Chaitra Navratri (nine nights)

Chaitra Navratri (nine nights) is particularly celebrated to worship goddess Durga and her nine forms through the nine days.

Chaitra Navratri 2021: Know dates, timings, significance and other important details

Chaitra Navratri is also known as Vasant Navratri which falls during the  Spring season every year and is considered auspicious for the farming communities in the country. According to the Georgian calendar, it usually falls in the month of March or April. 

This year Chaitra Navratri will commence on April 13, 2021, and the celebration will last up to April 22, 2021.  Chaitra Navratri (nine nights).

Navratri is celebrated to worship goddess Durga and her nine forms through the nine days. It is to seek her blessings for protection from evil and seek happiness.

The first day of Navratri marks the first day of the Hindu calendar and it falls during the Shukla Paksha of the moon i.e, the full moon phase. The rituals performed during the nine days to praise Godess Durga vary every day. 

Different states recognise the festival with different names, in Maharashtra, it is known as Gudi Padwa while in Kashmir it is known as Navreh. It coincides with different harvest festivals across several states in India. Devotees embark on this nine-day-long celebration with Ghatasthapna or Kalash Sthapna.

                                                   Jai Mata Di

Published by Anita Vij

A caring mother of 2. A loving wife. An aspiring individual who wishes to share her life-long learnings with the rest of the world.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: